Günther Heiß

Senior Advisor

Ministerial Director Federal Chancellery ret.

Günter Heiß

Security policy expert with many years of experience on national and state level

Günter Heiß boosts the friedrich30 team with his diverse security policy experience. To the friedrich30 network he adds contacts to the structures of the security authorities at national and state level.

Career

Günter was the coordinator responsible for the federal intelligence services at the Federal Chancellery from 2009 to 2017. During this time, his office was the nerve center of all intelligence activities of the intelligence agencies of the Federal Republic of Germany. During this period, he was deemed a reliable anchor for the Federal Chancellery in all matters of national security.

Prior to his time at the Chancellor's Office, Günter headed the civil protection department at the Lower Saxony Ministry of the Interior and served as president of the Lower Saxony State Office for the Protection of the Constitution.

Education

Günter graduated in music with a specialization in piano and also has a degree in law. After university, he first worked as a judge at the administrative court and moved to the Lower Saxony Ministry of the Interior in 1987.

Private

Born in Helmstedt, he plays the piano in his free time, publishes music and theater reviews in daily newspapers and attends opera performances.

Günther Heiß

Senior Berater

Ministerialdirektor Bundeskanzleramt a.D.

Günter Heiß

Sicherheitspolitischer Experte mit langjähriger Erfahrung auf nationaler und Länderebene

Günter Heiß verstärkt das friedrich30 Team mit seinen vielfältigen sicherheitspolitischen Erfahrungen. Er erweitert das Netzwerk in die Strukturen der Sicherheitsbehörden auf nationaler und Länderebene.

Karriere

Heiß war von 2009 bis 2017 im Bundeskanzleramt verantwortlicher Koordinator für die Nachrichtendienste des Bundes. In dieser Zeit liefen bei ihm die Fäden aller nachrichtendienstlichen Aktivitäten der Geheimdienstbehörden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland zusammen. Er galt in dieser Zeit als verlässlicher Anker des Bundeskanzleramts in allen Fragen der nationalen Sicherheit.

Vor seiner Zeit im Bundeskanzleramt leitete Heiß die Katastrophenschutzabteilung im Niedersächsischen Innenministerium und war Präsident des Niedersächsischen Landesamt für Verfassungsschutz.

Ausbildung

Günter Heiß hat ein Musikstudium im Fach Klavier und ein Jurastudium absolviert. Nach der Universität arbeitete er zunächst als Verwaltungsrichter und wechselte 1987 ins niedersächsische Innenministerium.

Privat

Der gebürtige Helmstedter spielt in seiner Freizeit aktiv Klavier, veröffentlicht Musik- und Theaterkritiken in Tageszeitungen und besucht Opernaufführungen.